CAPTAIN KELLY’S COTTAGE
Bruny Island, Tasmania
Bricks: Emperor and 76mm Ghost bricks by Krause Bricks
Architect: John Wardle Architects
Photography: Trevor Mein
Originally built in the 1830’s, Captain Kelly’s Cottage on remote North Bruny Island in Tasmania was painstakingly restored by John Wardle Architects in 2015-16. Following a meticulous research process which involved the review of original diaries and logbooks, the award-winning restoration honours its original heritage while creating a new iconic legacy.
A highlight of the restoration is the new brick chimney, located in the position of the original chimney which has long since been removed. For this highlight design feature, the architects selected custom Emperor and 76mm bricks in Ghost by Krause Brick.
Learn more about this project: